Allergen Labelling at Real Plastic Free

Real Plastic Free Allergen Labelling

Real Foods brand is packed under strict rules and with cross-contamination procedures in place, however, we cannot guarantee that any of the Real Foods pre-packs will not have been exposed (in packaging or transport of the goods) to any of the plant-based allergens. 

As all the Real Foods pre-packs are vegetarian we are confident that there has been no possibility of exposure to fish, crustaceans or molluscs.

We aim to keep the information as up-to-date as possible, so first try the product page. If you would like more than the information displayed on our product page – please do email us at webshop@realplasticfree.com and we'll get the requested information to you.

Any of the 14 major allergens should be clearly displayed in the ingredients section of the packaging. This is in bold or CAPITALS. The 14 allergens are:

·       Cereals containing gluten

·       Crustaceans

·       Molluscs

·       Eggs

·       Fish

·       Peanuts

·       Nuts

·       Soybeans

·       Milk

·       Celery

·       Mustard

·       Sesame

·       Lupin

·       Sulphur dioxide at levels above 10mg/kg, or 10 mg/litre, expressed as SO2.

Real Plastic Free Gluten Information

The majority of beans, pulses and grains supplied in the UK have cross contamination warnings in the 'packing, processing or transportation' section of their product specifications. This may be because the produce travels in the same van for delivery or is warehoused or processed next to wheat storage facilities.

Real Foods pre-packs are produced with strict procedures, but we cannot guarantee that they are free from gluten, they are packed in a separate area on a different day from gluten-containing products but they are stored in the same building as gluten-containing flours.

Where producers are unable to justify 'gluten-free' or 'very low gluten' claims because of the risk of cross-contamination, when steps have been taken to control this contamination, we are able to indicate which foods do not have gluten-containing ingredients. This is the No Gluten Containing Ingredients label, otherwise known as Naturally Gluten Free.

These products are entirely suitable for people avoiding gluten, but they are often NOT suitable for coeliacs, people with allergies or particularly high levels of intolerance. Many people are happy with No Gluten Containing Ingredient products if they can be easily cleaned (for example beans and nuts) but cannot run the risk of non-cleanable items (like flour or oats).

We try to keep information as up-to-date as possible on the individual product’s allergen warnings. However, suppliers and manufacturers do change their sourcing and recipes on occasion and don't always let us know.

If you are concerned about the allergen warnings, please email us for the latest product specification at webshop@realplasticfree.com